Breaking the code.

I’m not all that sympathetic with teachers in England are who complain that the  profession’s watchdog, the General Teaching Council for England (GTC), is going too  in introducing a code conduct – which comes into force next month –  which says teachers must “maintain reasonable standards in their own behaviour that enable them to uphold public trust and confidence in the profession”

 It seems to me that if teachers want to be trusted and respected, they should earn that trust and respect by their public conduct.

Of course, I would not wish to see this “conduct unbecoming” code being used as an excuse to exclude teachers from fully participating in the body politic. Nor would I like to see a return to this

 I am intrigued by the NASUWT’s opposition to the code of conduct. When I joined NAS in the late 60s they issued me with a handbook of moral and social imperatives. My favourite was “A teacher should not get drunk on Saturday night or answer the door in his braces”

Peter Baker, Leicester

(The Guardian Tuesday 15.09.2009)

