Clive James guest edits Time Out (Sydney)

Clive James is guest editor of the current issue of Time Out (Sydney) with the happy result that the reader gets quite a few recent Clive James essays collected in one magazine.    

Clive James on everything

We know that you don’t want to miss a word from our special guest editor… so we have compiled this list so that you can read everything Clive James

This late in life, it’s a huge privilege to be enrolled as Time Out’s guest editor,  because I have always worshipped editors. To put it another way, I loathe them. They thank me for my articles and then they fix things that don’t need fixing. Even worse, they fix things that do need fixing. The only editor I ever held in unalloyed regard was Clive James when he was editing the literary pages of Sydney Uni’s Honi Soit in the late 50s. Now there was an editor, smoking a Rothman’s filter tip (from the new flip-top box!) while eating an egg sandwich and making unsolicited improvements to a new poem by Les Murray!

Now I am an editor again, at the very time when I must take to the stage of the Opera House, alone but for a Symphony Orchestra, and present a panoply of music from some of the great crime films. On my flight from London I’ll be trying out my Marlon Brando impression on the Emirates hosties, so I should be in good shape when I land.

But what counts for me is to be in Sydney again. I have several inspirational locations in Sydney and I’ll be listing them in this issue, but really the whole town still turns me on like nowhere else. It’s really the one advantage of having been away – you get to come back. They might even make you an editor…


Clive James, Guest Editor

Clive James on…

Symphony at the Movies: Crime Time – Clive James introduces Symphony at the Movies: Crime Time, all his favourite film scores, as played by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra.

His favourite Sydney spots – Ten ways to fall in love with Sydney all over again, just as Clive James does…

Bea Miles – Scourge of cabbies, cops, bus conductors… and Clive.

Australian Painters – Clive James canvasses the best in Australian painting

His Favourite Lyrics – With lyrics ranging from Cole Porter to Johnny Cash, Clive James hits us with his rhythm stick.

Crime Fiction – Clive James holds forth on the art of crime fiction.

US Movie Critics – While reviewing the book American Movie Critics: An Anthology From the Silents Until Now, Clive James compares perception and theory in the movie critics’ world.

Childhood Reading – Start with sludge fiction and then move onto something hard, Clive James was told at school. A world of literature stretched before him.

The Sopranos on DVD – In the dark night of the soul it is often three o’clock in the afternoon on the pool terrace of a mobster’s house in New Jersey.

Stuff no longer posted to the Pete Atkin Web Forum

