Rokia Traoré – new to me.

Although the Malian singer, songwriter and guitarist. Rokia Traoré has been making a big impression on audiences and critics on mainland Europe for little over a decade now, she is not someone in whom I was especially interested until I heard her talking and performing very recently on BBC Radio 3’s excellent World Routes
 
What I listened to then, and have been listening to since, convinces me that I have been missing out, and that she is someone whose work I should be more familiar with.

Rokia Trarore Tchamantche (Nonsuch) £12.99

Her latest album Tchamantche comes highly recommended by Robin Denselow in the review pages The Guardian today. His recommendation, he says, comes mostly “because of the quality and range of her singing, which can be quietly slinky and personal, rousing, as well as breathy”. That could make things easy to start with.

Rokia Traore Womad-2004
/

