Christine Tobin, Phil Robson & Derby Jazz.

I see that The Christine Tobin Quartet is lined up appear on Thursday March the 22nd in The Darwin Suite, Assembly Rooms, Derby as part of Derby Jazz Week which runs from March the 21st to 25th.  A Tobin gig is always worth catching. She is one of those vocalists whose work I admire, without my necessarily always liking it, if that makes sense. My problem is that I occasionally find her material – especially some of her own compositions – just too obscure and abstract for my taste. That said, I have to say that I try to catch her when she is whenever she performs anywhere with a fifty or sixty mile radius of where I live. So, in all probability, it’s Derby for me on Thursday after work.  

I also note that Christine’s her life-partner, and a long-standing member of her various line-ups, the guitarist Phil Robson  is bringing his Phil Robson Six Strings + the Beat to perform a specially commissioned piece to celebrate the 25th anniversary of Derby Jazz. Robson, who was born in nearby Nottingham and whose early career was given some encouragement by the Derby Jazz people, is one the best jazz guitarists this country has. Anybody in the vicinity of The Derby Dance Centre at 6pm on Saturday the 24th could do worse than pop in and hear this class act in action.  

Later in the evening Phil will sit with fellow Partisans, Julian Siegel, Thad Kelly and Gene Calderazzo, to give a performance in the Great Hall, Assembly Rooms, Derby. Partisans, which have been working as a unit for about a decade, are well worth catching up with.       

