Rosa Parks (1913-2005) remembered.

It was on this day 1955 that the African American seamstress and civil rights worker Rosa Parks, tired and on her way home from work with a bag of groceries in her arms, refused to obey Montgomery Alabama bus driver James Blake’s demand that she surrender her seat to a white passenger and sparked off what would turn out to be one of the most successful civil rights movements ever. 

“Our mistreatment was just not right, and I was tired of it,” wrote Parks in book Quiet Strength (1994), the book she co-authored with Gregory J Reed. “I kept thinking about my mother and my grandparents, and how strong they were. I knew there was a possibility of being mistreated, but an opportunity was being given to me to do what I had asked of others.” 

That Rosa Parks, who died in 2005, had to do what she did should never be forgotten. 

