Time out.

An irritating, but my no means health-threatening or life-threatening bug has laid me low and drained my energies for the past six days. I’m slowly recovering and now feel that I can once again begin to engage with what’s going on around me.

I see by this morning’s edition of The Guardian that the Republicans may have managed to recover some ground the American mid-term elections. Although, I fervently hope that it’s not true, my gut instinct tells me that the Democrats have not put up good enough showing – we think we know what they might be against, but we sure as hell have no idea of what they are for – for them to win as convincingly as they were being predicted to, or, whisper it, to win at all. 

I think I’ll retreat into a dark corner until it’s all over. That might help to allay immediate anxieties.

