Second thoughts – US style

    

Just when we were beginning to think that it took considerable courage for Alberto Fernandez to appear on on al-Jazeera television accuse US government of “arrogance” and “stupidity” in its policy on Iraq, I note from a report posted into The Guardian at 10.15am today, that the spin doctor retracts US arrogance remarks.

A day after his remarks were broadcast on al-Jazeera television, Alberto Fernandez, the director of public diplomacy in the state department’s bureau of near eastern affairs, issued a terse written apology through the department’s press office. “Upon reading the transcript of my appearance on al-Jazeera, I realised that I seriously misspoke by using the phrase ‘there has been arrogance and stupidity’ by the US in Iraq,” Mr Fernandez said.

“This represents neither my views nor those of the state department. I apologise”

I particularly like the “nor those of the state department” bit. There are no prizes for guessing who might have given whom a good talking to.

