A plea from the heart.

This letter appears in the letter pages of today’s issue of The Guardian. It speaks with eloquent simplicity for itself:

My name is Michal, I’m Israeli, and I have a lovely one-year-old daughter. Her name is Ma’ayan. I am a stay-at-home mom. My husband was recently called up on reserve duty. I even don’t know where he is. I want my dear husband back home with me. I need him, our daughter needs him. At work, his job depends solely on him. He has no replacement. Nor do the others engaged in this deadly conflict.

This war, however, can be replaced. I ask and urge anyone in the political or military walks, here in Israel or around the world, please do anything in your power to promote an immediate ceasefire for our small family and for all other families in the region. Thank you.
Michal Serfaty-Shoob
Kiryat Ono, Israel

